Archive for June 2nd, 2009

02
Jun
09

Family Theater Packages

Front page on Perez Hilton, he talks about Shrek the Musicals financial troubles and the new package deal they have created to try and lure more people to the theater.

It is sad when the economy meets its way to things like this, but I guess it was to be expected.

02
Jun
09

Nominated For Best Musical- Next To Normal

Normal650.jpg

(Photo From New York Times)

Next to Normal is definitely one of those shows that I wish I could see in New York. The story centers around a family and the struggles their mother suffers from manic depression. The characters seems intriguing and the voices are music to my ears.

Similar in style to Rent, the set is very bare with more room to focus on the actions of the characters. I feel like sets like these work well with the right people for they allow all of the attention to be put on what the characters are doing.

Glancing over the reviews at BroadwayBox.com people that actually got to see the show don’t really have many complaints. Frankly, I am jealous and only wish I was one of them.

Separate from the actual show, I was so impressed with the website for it. Once the front page loads, you see the faces of everyone in the family and hear the music right away. You also have the option to add your face to the music. Once you have done this you might see your face going by while the music is playing. I think it is interaction from your audience that really makes something like this really special.

I also loved the integration of the show with twitter. If you follow their twitter account you can hear the story of the musical straight from the characters who tweet various aspects of it everyday. It is good to see theater embrace the current technology like that. I love the way you feel when a show really connects with you and programs like twitter give this show a whole new level.

I can’t wait to see what the Tony’s have in store for this show.




June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930